Kids… Always.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Helpless.”Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

It’s a time of slamming doors.

She storms back into the house.

“I can’t ride in the car with him!” she exclaims.

I sigh and look at her. They were on their way to work and had barely made it out the door, tension thick around them. In just a minute he slinks into the house also, airing his gripes and the reasons why he was being obnoxious. Soon it’s a vociferous argument about what the other one did.

How do I tell them I don’t want to be a part of it? They are 22 and 18. If they can’t solve their problems, what makes them think I can? I try my best to mediate. Neither one feels in the wrong. I plead with them to make an effort to get along.

I just want to drink my coffee in peace.

I listen to both sides. I ask them to consider the other’s feelings. It’s all I can do, but I feel like I’m talking to two very sturdy walls. It’s with a heavy heart that I watch them storm out the door, problem still unresolved.

Does empty nest syndrome strike parents of large families?

Leave a Reply

