Letter From A Former Follower

Dear Facebook Friend,

I have recently had to unfollow you. Please don’t take offense; it’s not that I dislike you. I would still stop and talk to you at the store or the park or at a ball game. I would ask about your kids because I truly care how they are doing. It appears from your posts that they are doing very well.

I see that your oldest daughter was crowned Homecoming Queen. How exciting! You must be very proud. I would urge you to have her try for the festival princess position in the spring. I feel like she might be selected as queen. Do you remember when our kids were friends back in middle school? My son told me the other day he only has a couple of friends now. I don’t know if he was joking, but I worry about him fitting in. I’m glad you don’t have those worries.

I also see that your daughter’sย good grades and sports successes have certainly paid off in the form of, correct me if I’m wrong (you may have updated this information when I wasn’t looking), 4 college offers? And you say they’ve been coming in all year? I can certainly feel your excitement. And you posted a picture of them, although I would have taken your word for it. You must be very proud. My son is struggling in school, and his dedication to his soccer team has not resulted in any scholarships or recruiting offers, though there is still time, right?

May I also congratulate you on the success of your younger daughter. My, it seems like intelligence runs in your family. Straight As in middle school are something to be proud of. It was nice to see the picture as proof. It made me think ofย my conferences, where the teacher, my son and I brainstormed how he could pull his math grade up… again. It would be nice if he would bring home a straight A report card. I would be proud of that accomplishment, almost as much as I am proud of his character traits of kindness and empathy and thoughtfulness. We would have a small celebration where I would serve up his favorite dinner on the special plate, You would probably never know about it.

Facebook friend, just know that I am not choosing this path because I don’t care. It’s just that my life is not as beautiful or on track as yours seems to be, and the constant comparison is gnawing at me and affecting my relationships. So I will leave you in peace with your 500 other friends. In the sea of “likes,” you won’t even notice mine missing.

If we ever run into each other around town, I look forward to the chance to catch up.

Sincerely,

A former follower

13 thoughts on “Letter From A Former Follower

  1. This sums up a big part of what is wrong with Facebook. I always try and add snipets of the lows of my life too, to offer help to those in the same position. Life is often different when you see beyond the computer screen. This was a great read, thank you!

    Like

    1. Not many people do. I have one friend who is very honest in her struggles as a single mom. I find it very refreshing. People come out in droves offering support and encouragement. Thanks for reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Agreed. I feel torn about Facebook. I stay on it because otherwise how would I know what’s going on in my long-distance friends’ lives? But if I were to deactivate my account, would I then have more (and probably better) interactions with them? Just thoughts to ponder.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

