Day 23

I didn’t think a month-long writing challenge would be this hard. I love to write. I write all the time. How hard could it be?

When you throw an audience in, it can get very hard, indeed. I’m on day 23, and so far still on the streak, although as the times gravitate to later and later in the day, I might just blow it before it’s all said and done. (I’m too old to relive the days of late night cram sessions.)

When it comes to writing, I’ve found that mornings work better for me. When I have to work, that’s impossible. Afternoons are alright, I can still think creatively, but my recent busy schedule has kept me from my laptop until evening. By evening, I feel like the well has run dry, not to mention the ever-present blare of the television, which I must endure if I wish to spend any time with the guys in this house.

Back to the day – 23. What could be special about a number?

I initially had nothing for 23, except that it’s a prime number, and I have a nerdy love of prime numbers.

A little searching reminded me that it’s also the number of one of the most famous psalms of the Bible, the Shepherd’s Psalm.

It’s the elemental number of Vanadium (yawn) which is named after the Scandanavian goddess Vanadis, aka Freya, goddess of youth, love, beauty and the dead. (Infinitely more interesting than an earthly element also known as brown lead.) I have to claim ignorance when it comes to the pantheon of my ancestors, but I have been watching Vikings, if that counts for anything.

23 is also the number of pairs of chromosomes in the human genome, which has been mapped in my lifetime. That’s pretty amazing. We live in crazy times.

It’s one of the LOST numbers – 4, 8, 15, 16, 23, 42. I was such a fan of that show, but they lost me, as they did many of their fans, in the final season. But the numbers…

So there are some interesting links to the number 23. I know there are more, but in the interest of time (mine) and need for sleep (also mine), I’ll leave the rest of the research for another time.

But since I brought up the LOST numbers, and though it’s totally unrelated, I should probably give a shout-out to 42 since it is the answer to the universe. 

If you’re still here, thanks for coming aboard my random ride today.

So long, and thanks for all the fish. 😉


(I’ll be back tomorrow.)

Leave a Reply

