The Power of a Hug

There are defining moments in life, those that stick with you and create enough of an impact as to define and realign your thinking patterns. When my children were small, I had one of those moments.

We were in our family chaos pattern of divergent needs, all clamoring to be met immediately. My mind was going to its frazzled state, a common one at the time. Pressure was on the rise, the needle hovering around red.

All of a sudden I seemed to see my children not as the little wild things they were at the time, but as precious beings under my care. I took them into my arms (and you must understand that they were not being sweet at that moment) and just hugged them and hugged them and hugged them. No scolding. No lessons from mom. Just a fiercely loving hug.

It was as if the pressure release valve opened. All of the clamoring stopped, not just for the moment, but for the rest of the day. In that moment I realized that what my kids wanted more than whatever they were clamoring for was my love and attention. In an instant my little wild things had been tamed with the power of a hug.


In response to The Daily Post’s prompt: Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright. 

2 thoughts on “The Power of a Hug

Leave a Reply

