House of Cards

Cool tears assuage the pain as though my feet
Have stumbled over shards of glass so fine
That you contrived to throw where we might meet,
And in your tantrum bold have drawn a line.

Your viewpoint is confirmed, my dear, not mine,
For I believe concession is an art.
In meeting of the minds we may align
To face the future tethered at the heart.

The fragile bonds of trust may tear apart
When scornful words are cast about at will.
In your defense you say we’ve pulled apart
While in my heart I know I love you still,

And wish with all my soul you’d sweep those shards
Of stubbornness and fix this house of cards.

10 thoughts on “House of Cards

  1. These lines really struck me, central both visually and thematically:

    In meeting of the minds we may align
    To face the future tethered at the heart.

    I felt that push-and-pull, the delicate balance.

    Like

  2. I echo the comments about “concession is an art.” That line could inspire more Spenserian sonnets. You conquered the form with grace, Cathy! I also liked the author’s voice in this: “tantrum,” “my dear,” and “In your defense” all gave me clear snippets of the kind of person (or the part he/she plays at least) this sonnet is addressed to.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

