Transitions

Brown eyes watch my stillness
As an ember glows brightly,
Fanned by the winds of change,
Fed by laughter and footfalls echoing through time
Off photo-plastered walls,
Into a blaze that threatens to engulf.

I am fueled by the fire within.

Photographs of frozen moments
Stand in for warm bear hugs and childish grins.
The jangle of a telephone subdues the flame, and time ticks off
Seconds, minutes, hours in a life of waiting.
Then again, silence – nothing but expectant thumping
Of a dog tail on hardwood floor.

I am fueled by the fire within.

Resigned to fate, I pull on my running shoes.
This race isn’t over yet.
“Ready, girl?” I ask both of us.
The thumping intensifies, a beating drum of anticipation.
I cup a burning ember in hardened hands and place it in my soul.
“Let’s go.”

I am fueled by the fire within.

10 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. There’s something so endearing about your description of the dog. I could hear the thumping tail.

    I haven’t tackled a bop yet. My poem was more bop-adjacent. Kudos to you for working within the form.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “I cup a burning ember in hardened hands and place it in my soul.” Such a good line, and it feels even more powerful against the ordinariness of someone going for a run with her dog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

