Hero’s Journey

No dwarves are knocking on my door –
No secret invitation.
I have no wizard on my side
To lead my life evasion.


Photo credit: Cat Burton via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

My laptop screen is black as night
No blips to wake me up,
No hands outstretched with blue or red
To show the great set-up.


Photo credit: Wendelin Jacober via Foter.com / CC BY

I have no skills at hunting game
That might secure my future
And that of all humanity
Awakening from its stupor.


Photo credit: KendraMillerPhotography via Chairs Hunt / CC BY-ND

My planet with its one sole moon
Is not in any danger;
My roomba doesn’t grace me with
A message from a stranger.


Photo credit: Tom Simpson via ChairsHunt / CC BY-NC-ND

My muggle life is staunchly set,
No secret wizard skill.
No great, vile villain threatens
To pry me from my will.


Photo credit: Peter G Trimming via Source / CC BY

My simple life is all there is,
No hanging on precariously;
Through screen and print I’ll have to live
My hero’s quest vicariously.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hero’s Journey

  1. Very, very nicely written.. Adventure comes in snippets.. High adventure is rarely experienced in one’s lifetime .. We watch action adventure flicks, read hair-raising novels, and for the most part, live vicariously through them..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

