Share Your World #33

The following is a writing challenge that offers up random questions each week. If you are interested in joining in, there is a link at the bottom. Here are the questions and my answers for this week:


Would you travel into outer space? 

I would not, could not travel into outer space. I once spent nearly a month in the highlands of Mexico, a land of prickly pear cactus and agave. What trees there were were spindly things relying on kind humans to douse them now and again with life-giving water. I felt a bit like my soul was dying until on our return trip we reached Santa Fe, NM and were enveloped in forest again.

I discovered I need to be surrounded by water and plant life. Until you can guarantee me these two things, I’ll keep my feet firmly planted on the ground, thank you.

Which country/city in the world (that you have never been to) would you most like to visit and why?

I would love to visit the fjords of Norway, home of my great grandparents, then cross over into Sweden and visit the lands of my other great grandparents. In a perfect world, I would see the Northern Lights and cross that off my bucket list.

What could you do to breathe more deeply today?

I need to remember the transitory nature of our existence. When those buttons get pushed, as they always do, I could look forward to a day when my life may exist without the button-pusher, or hers/his without me, and be grateful for this time together.

mentalfloss.com

Complete this sentence:  This creamy peanut butter sandwich could really use some …

pickles!

Oh, come on. Have you never heard of a peanut butter and pickle sandwich? Sound gross? Yet we have peanut satay, which combines peanut butter and soy sauce. The Thai add peanuts to their national dish of pad thai noodles. We cover the tasty nuts with sugar and mix them in with popcorn and chocolate. So why not peanut butter and pickles? Go ahead! Try it!

(By the way, I prefer sweet pickles.)

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am so grateful that my parents are within driving distance. I was able to go surprise my dad on his birthday. He’s a youthful 76, but he had a heart attack scare some years ago followed by open heart surgery, so I try not to take this time for granted.

In the upcoming last free week of summer, I look forward to breaking out my kayak and slipping it into one of our many refreshing lakes. I just need to decide which one.


041514-sywbanner
SYW #33

Thanks again, Cee, for the great interaction! I look forward to reading the other submissions.

Leave a Reply

