Share Your World – #43

It’s time for the latest installment of Cee’s Share Your World. If you would like to play along, click here. Here are my responses:

What are you really glad you did yesterday?

Yesterday I cooked. And cooked. And cooked.

My husband and father are going on their annual hunting trip to Eastern Oregon and my small contribution to their meals has transitioned into me being their main supplier of good eats. They like it and that makes me happy, but it is a lot of work.

When I opened my giant Mexican cookbook to search for a chile colorado recipe, I thought (again) how fun it would be to open a restaurant. By the end of the night reality had struck its familiar blow, reminding me that I probably didn’t have the stamina to do this day after day. Toward the end of my cooking marathon, my son reminded me of the Food Network show Restaurant Impossible and how brutally hard it is to be in the restaurant business. I guess I’ll settle for cooking for friends and family.

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

I’d trade my one story for a two story in a heartbeat. I grew up in a house with a basement. As my kids have grown in our own small, one-story house, I’ve come to realize the advantage to having a separate floor for them to gather with their friends to play games and watch movies. There’s the added benefit of daily workouts as I’d travel up and down the stairs. (Thankfully, I’m in good health with no knee issues.)

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

The day is young! I’ll get back to you on that.

What plans did you have as a teenager that didn’t happen? Are you happy it didn’t work out that way?

I was a dreamer as a teen. I think my biggest goal was to move to Colorado and be the country girl John Denver made me believe I was. I was going to live a simple life and spend a lot of time skiing. Alas, my dreams didn’t come true, but the alternative with my husband and four kids has been pretty wonderful.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I was just grateful to get through last week. Sometimes that’s as good as it gets.

This week I look forward to spending some time on my writing.


As always, thanks to Cee for this fun opportunity to share our worlds.

041514-sywbanner

6 thoughts on “Share Your World – #43

  1. There are pros and cons to everything aren’t there? We just recently moved and down-sized into a condo. I am in my late 40s and my husband his mid 50s. I wanted a place with one level, no stairs that we could grow old in and not have to move again. Then, I remembered we have a 10 year-old son who still has to go through his teens and opted for the 3-level condo with basement. Still, I just suddenly developed knee problems and I curse the stairs overtime!
    Hope you found time for writing this past week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

