SYW #44

It’s time for another installment of Cee’s Share Your World. If you want to play along, click here. Here are my responses for this week:

What was your favorite subject in school?

My favorite subjects changed over the course of my education. When I was in elementary school, it was reading. Library days were my favorite, and I loved plowing right through the SRA reading kits. When I got to middle school, my favorite subjects became writing and art, partially thanks to a very creative teacher. In high school, I discovered that I loved biology. It was only in college, when I was taking a teaching math course, that I discovered a love for my previously hated subject, math, which goes to show you that anything is possible.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do?

  1. Clean the bathrooms. Worst job ever.
  2. Pull the weeds. Seriously, how do they grow so fast? I don’t know if two hours a day would cover it on our little acre plot. (But it would beat the zero hours a day I’m spending on it right now.)
  3. If there is any time left, they could just straighten up, wash dishes, whatever would give me more time to research and write without the burden of these chores hanging over my head.

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I lived in a newer suburb of a city. It was a safe place to explore, at least as far as we knew. Who knows what unknown dangers actually lurked around there? I’ve moved around a bit, but still live fairly close to where I grew up. It’s fun to drive back through the neighborhood sometimes and stir up old memories. I have a lot of acquaintances from those days who live mere blocks from where we all grew up. That seems strange to me.

In your opinion, list some places that are great for shopping?

I’m not much of a shopper anymore. My needs are small, and as long as I have coffee, chocolate, and a good book, I can procrastinate any shopping trip. When I go to the mall and don’t find what I like, it’s a frustrating waste of my time. The closest mall is 20 miles away and mostly caters to the high school crowd. I find myself shopping more and more online. That being said, if I’m anywhere near a T.J. Maxx/HomeGoods, you might not see me for a couple of hours. 😉

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I was grateful for a quiet week of my husband being gone hunting.

This week I look forward to seeing a zombie opera that my younger brother co-wrote. He’s now the artistic director of his town’s theater and is excited to be showing off his thus far magnum opus.


As always, thanks to Cee for this fun challenge.

041514-sywbanner

3 thoughts on “SYW #44

Leave a Reply

