Wordstock PDX

wp-1478406004608.jpg

Today I attended my first Wordstock PDX. I hear from others that it was the best.Despite the oil light in my car throwing my morning out of balance, I made it in plenty of time to get a good seat to hear Sherman Alexie. I’m a huge fan. His irreverent sense of humor is right up my alley. He mocks and laughs at everything. His reading of his new picture book was punctuated with stories and explanations of jokes and gestures for the radio audience. Look him up soon on OPB’s Think Out Loud. I bought his book to read to my classes.


Photo credit: ASU English Department via Foter.com / CC BY

The rest of the author talks were spread out within a few blocks, old churches and new theaters and the Portland Art Museum. The rainy day only added to the Portland dreary-weather-let’s-just-grab-a-book-and-read atmosphere. Throughout the festival, there were author pop up talks amid Andy Warhol prints in the modern art museum and book signings in the ballroom. My only complaints were that I’d left my umbrella at home and that I had to pick and choose authors to listen to.

wp-1478406057170.jpg

Oh, well. I’ll be back next year, and next time I’m bringing my book-loving friends.

My new reading list includes:

Chicago, by Brian Doyle
Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty, by Ramona Ausubel
Modern Lovers, by Emma Straub
People Like You, by Margaret Malone
The Folly of Loving Life, by Monica Drake
Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi
The Underground Railroad, by Colson Whitehead
Substitute, by Nicholas Baker
The Remnants, by Robert Hill

Leave a Reply

