Share Your World #49

It’s time for the latest installment of Cee’s Share Your World. Here are my answers to this week’s questions:

What do you value most in a friendship?

That’s a hard question to answer. A friend is someone who can be honest with you with all the love in her heart in a way that tells you they are not going anywhere. A friend is someone who will laugh and cry with you, someone who speaks and listens. She is someone who can be entrusted with your secrets. Is that trait filed under the heading dependability? Loyalty? Trustworthiness?

Do you prefer eating the frosting of the cake or the cupcake first?  Do you prefer a specific flavor?

My younger sister and I used to have a deal. Whenever we were served cake, the scraping would begin. Globs of gooey, lardy frosting would end up on her plate and light and luscious, airy cake would end up on mine, a trade deal that made us both very happy. (But, oh, her poor arteries!)

Now my cupcake M.O. is to split the cupcake in half horizontally and put the bottom over the frosting, making a cupcake sandwich. I’m not a huge cupcake fan, though. I usually pass on them (and I see a lot of cupcakes as a teacher), but if you set one in front of me, good chocolate with ganache or carrot with cream cheese, I’d probably eat at least a couple of bites this way.

Have you ever been in a submarine?  If you haven’t, would you want to?

My life is a submarine. Out of sight, out of mind, slightly claustrophobic, and always peering through a narrow viewfinder. Haha. (slight exaggeration)

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

I think I lead a pretty average life that’s somewhere near the upper middle of the bell curve. A few people I know have very happy, interactive families. The inability to reach that high hanging fruit is what keeps me from feeling truly satisfied in life. Otherwise, I can’t complain. I’ve been through a lot more than some and not as much as others. Life is a gift that I try to appreciate every day.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful for work. The expense/income ratio has been tipped to the former at a time when I’ve had a lot of unpaid time off for one reason or another. Time to start tipping it back the right way.

I look forward to heading to my son’s graduation and wedding. Two big milestones compacted into one weekend. 🙂


Thanks again to Cee for hosting this wonderful writing challenge.

041514-sywbanner

One thought on “Share Your World #49

Leave a Reply

