Share Your World 2/28/17

Here are my latest responses to Cee’s Share Your World. If you would like to play along, click here.

Ever ran out of gas in your vehicle?

Not while I was driving. We ran out of gas less than a mile from the gas station when my husband was driving, and on the freeway, no less. You can imagine the bickering that came from that incident.

That being said, I’ve come close. When I was driving Sunshine on our cross-country trip to college, the gas light came on. At night. In the desert. In the middle of nowhere. It was me and three kids in the car, Needles, California was the next thing on the map, and it was nowhere in sight. Finally, lights blinked in the distant darkness, and with a twisting in my gut, I coasted into the nearest gas station, thanking my lucky stars. I am now careful to fill up when it gets around 3/4 empty.

Which are better: black or green olives?

I’ve finally jumped onto the olive bandwagon somewhat after eschewing them for most of my life. I prefer black to green, though I really like a couple of chopped kalamatas on a salad.

If you were a great explorer, what would you explore?

I would explore foreign lands and cultures. I find it really interesting to see the way our different experiences intersect and how other people have learned to adapt to their situations.

Quotes List: At least three of your favorite quotes?

This is a long one, but it’s always been one of my favorites. I tend to be a sideline sort of person, so it pushes me to put myself out there beyond my relatively close comfort zone.

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.  ~Theodore Roosevelt

And this one about being an authentic person has always stuck with me.


Photo credit: R J Ruppenthal via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

This quote about just doing the right thing and being who you are also really speaks to me.

People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.
If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.
What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.
If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.
Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.
In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.
-this version is credited to Mother Teresa

Here’s another. (Don’t get me going on quotes!) It’s highly applicable to our current political situation.

What you do speaks so loudly I cannot hear what you say.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Last week I pulled out my drawing pencils and sketch book. I haven’t played around with them for a while, but some art therapy is needed at this time in my life. Like so many other things, this hobby is a combination of work-in-progress and steep learning curve. My fantasy is to paint a giant masterpiece on canvas, something that others would relate to. Haha. For right now I will content myself with trying to figure out how to draw non-Picasso-like faces and symmetrical eyes. But I am grateful for this hobby.

The second part of this question is much harder to answer.

I don’t ever look forward to the week of daylight savings time. I think I dread it more than the dentist, if that’s possible. It stems from not being a morning person and having a relatively early-morning job. I guess I could look forward to my internal clock eventually catching up.


Wishing you all a great week!

As always, thanks to Cee for this wonderful opportunity to write!

041514-sywbanner

Leave a Reply

