Share Your World 4/10/17

It’s time for another installment of Cee’s Share Your World. Here are my answers to this week’s questions:

Have you ever participated in a distance walking, swimming, running, or biking event? Tell your story.

I started running at 45. I had been through cancer and thought, why not? (Funny how illness wakes you up to possibilities.) My sister and I started the Couch to 5K program, which starts you with walking and gradually builds until you can run that distance. We supported each other and commiserated at the distances we had to run each week. It was tough, but gradually we improved until we could run nearly 5K. (3.1 miles)

Finally, we signed up for our first race. It was a fun run in Portland that crossed a couple of bridges and ran down the waterfront on both sides of the river. We made a girls’ weekend out of it, taking our daughters with us. I was nervous and didn’t see how I would ever run the whole thing, but I did it. We did it. We went on to run some 10Ks and even a couple of half-marathons. Not bad for an old cancer survivor, eh? Just proves you can do anything you set your mind to.

Name one thing not many people know about you.

I’m usually lonely.

What is your favorite flower?

I love dahlias. We have them planted all around the yard. Last winter we left them in the ground. I’m afraid we might have lost them. They are not lovers of damp soil, and it’s been a super soggy winter.

Things I want to have in my home (paintings, hot tubs, book cases, big screen tv etc)

There’s a giant painting of red poppies at a gallery at the coast. I would love to have that in my home. It’s out of my price range, unfortunately.

I would also love a hot tub. I have the perfect place for it, right below the deck around the stairs, tucked into a little alcove. I looked up homemade hot tubs the other day because it’s looking like we won’t fork out the thousands of dollars for a new one. The homemade ones look intriguing. It would be a bit like sitting in a hot spring.

Barring the hot tub, I’d take a sauna. Especially lately. Dry heat sounds particularly appealing.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for another week to be grateful for small things like coffee and Cadbury Mini Eggs, fresh baked scones, baby chicks, farm fresh eggs, and wine & conversation with friends.

I look forward to finding joy in more small things like the adoration of my son’s pup and watching teenage shows with said son.

wp-1481819756075.jpg

As always, thanks to Cee for the chance to share our worlds! Have a great week. I’m off to wash a stinky dog!

041514-sywbanner

 

