Share Your World 6-26-17

Here are my latest answers to Cee’s Share Your World:

What goal are you working on now? 

I have a list. In my end-of-the-school-year-thrilled-to-be-on-vacation frenzy, I decided on a bunch of projects instead of touring the world. I mean, how much fun is that? My goal is to work my way through the list, and I’m about halfway there – lots of painting and refreshing the house. Anyway, I’m a compulsive starter and inconsistent finisher, so every time I finish a project, I feel a little better about myself. This is my goal. To finish what I’ve started.

Here’s my list so far:

  • Repainting the walls
  • Painting the trim
  • Painting an Ikea bookshelf (tough job, not recommended)
  • Making a quilted wall hanging for my newly painted wall
  • Painting and reupholstering an old table set, the ripped vinyl (70s) seat of which I fell off of recently while using it to hang curtains (only bruised my ego)
  • Hanging curtains
  • DIYing the wine bottles that have been sitting on my counter for two months into planters
  • Staining the woodwork in my bathroom
  • Tiling the guest bathroom floor
  • Changing the shower head
  • SORTING PHOTOS (27 years worth! And I was/am an avid photographer!)

There are so many projects I could add. I have a pile of plates and shards I’ve been collecting to make mosaics, but for now, I think I’d better stick to the list.

20170624_124105

What is one thing you’re glad you tried but would never do again?

When my kids were young, we used to go to the local festival. My daughter was about 8 and wanted to ride on the Gravitron, the ride that is entirely enclosed and whirls you around like a salad spinner to the blaring music of 70s acid rock. I didn’t think she should go alone. We would go together. It would be fun.

Once it started up, I thought I was going to die. I literally spent the whole time praying that I would make it through, while all the young people were sliding up and down the walls having the time of their life! God answered my prayers, and I stumbled out the door, only to head to the nearest bench, pleading for my husband to just take the kids and leave me there for a while. Lesson learned.

Did you choose your profession or did it choose you?

Both. There are a lot of people in my extended family who are teachers. I think there is a mix of patience and curiosity that runs through the family that is conducive to the job. I came to the profession later in life, and part of the decision was that the work schedule would coincide with my kids’ school schedules.

Have you ever gotten lost?

Haha. Yes. Once I went to the coast by myself. I drove south along the coastline, then looked for a shortcut home. (This was back in the era of paper maps.) I found a road that looked like it went through the middle of what was a rather long loop, so I took it. It ended up being a gravel road through the coastal mountains in the middle of nowhere, and I, a young woman in an older car driving in the evening, seriously questioned my judgment at some point. I guess I was not really lost, except in the fact that I didn’t know where I was at any point on that gravel road, but it had to come out somewhere.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for phone calls from my eldest son that cut through lonely days.

I look forward to finishing up my painting projects and retiring the paintbrushes for a while.


Thanks as always to Cee for the chance to write about my world. 🙂 Have a safe and wonderful Fourth of July, my fellow Americans! Wishing a great weekend to everyone else!

041514-sywbanner

 

2 thoughts on “Share Your World 6-26-17

  1. Good start on your list! When you finish sorting your photos, you can come do mine! There are so many, I don’t know where to start, so I just don’t. 🙂 Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I think I’ll pass. I may never get mine done. I’ve attempted it before, but I just end up with a headache and a mess of photos scattered all over the table. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

